Why is certifying electrical testing technicians important?

Certification of competency is particularly important in the electrical testing industry. Inherent in the determination of the equipment's serviceability is the prerequisite that individuals performing the tests be capable of conducting the tests in a safe manner and with complete knowledge of the hazards involved. 

Technicians must also evaluate the test data and make an informed judgment on the continued serviceability, deterioration, or non-serviceability of the specific equipment.

NETA, a nationally recognized certification agency, provides recognition of four levels of competency within the electrical testing industry in accordance with ANSI/NETA ETT Standard for Certification of Electrical Testing Technicians. This standard is available as a free download in the NETA Bookstore.

The ANSI/NETA ETT establishes:

  • Minimum requirements for qualification and certification of the electrical testing technician (ETT)
  • Minimum training and experience requirements for ETTs and provides criteria for documenting qualifications and certification
  • Minimum qualifications for an independent and impartial certifying body to certify electrical testing technicians

Four levels of classification are defined in terms of the skills and knowledge required in a given method or methods to perform specified electrical testing and maintenance activities. To proceed to a higher level, an individual shall meet the qualifications set forth and pass the examination for all previous levels.

ETT Trainee Level 1

ETT Certified Assistant Level 2

ETT Certified Technician Level 3

ETT Certified Senior Technician Level 4

Contact List